Areas of Study

SLCC Areas of Study

  • Arts, Communication and Digital Media
  • Business
  • Computer Science and Information Technology
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Manufacturing, Construction and Applied Technologies
  • Science, Math and Engineering
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences, Education and Human Services

On the recommendation of the Phase I CWT, academies or Areas of Study were developed. An Area of Study is an integrated grouping of academic programs collaboratively designed to share a common framework for curriculum, instruction, learning climate, and assessment. The groupings include the integrated use of high-impact practices in teaching and advising.

Students within an area of study share a structured, formative experience. They begin with structured 15 to 34 credits among degree programs, coupled with hands-on advising for academic and career planning and co-curricular opportunities that promote integrated learning across the area of study.